Ken Stringfellow Biography, Age, Family, Wife, Songs And Net Worth.

Ken Stringfellow  Biography

Ken Stringfellow (Born Kenneth Stuart Stringfellow) is an American singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, arranger, and producer. Best known for his work with The Posies, R.E.M., and the re-formed Big Star, Stringfellow’s discography includes more than 200 albums.

Ken Stringfellow Age

Ken Stringfellow was born in Hollywood, California, United States on October 30, 1968. He is 50 years.

Ken Stringfellow Family

Stringfellow was born in Hollywood, California. His father was a television executive and relocated the family frequently as his career developed. Hence, Stringfellow went to elementary schools in New York, Chicago, and Detroit. After his parents divorced, in 1978, he moved to Bellingham, Washington.

In high school, he had learned to play piano at nine and guitar at 11, met Jon Auer, with whom he would later form The Posies. He attended college at the University of Washington, where he and Auer remained in touch, trading cassettes of songs.

Ken Stringfellow Photo

Ken Stringfellow Wife

Stringfellow has been married twice, first, he was married to The Fastbacks’ bass player Kim Warnick. Later he married Dominique Sassi and together they have a daughter, Aden.

Ken Stringfellow Career

The Posies

In 1988, he and Auer formed the Posies and self-released their first album, Failure, which included some of the earlier material they’d written separately. Immediately after the record’s release, Stringfellow left the University of Washington to focus on the Posies full-time.

Failure was well received by the press and put into regular rotation at college and commercial radio stations, prompting Stringfellow and Auer to quickly assemble a full band. They added Mike Musberger on drums and Rick Roberts on bass. The Posies made their first live performance in May 1988, two weeks after the release of Failure.

The album was subsequently reissued by the Seattle-based independent label, Pop Llama. An expanded version of Failure with eight bonus tracks was reissued by Omnivore Recordings in 2014.

Following a series of dates with The Replacements, Hoodoo Gurus, and They Might Be Giants, among others, the Posies were signed by DGC, a Geffen Records imprint. Dear 23 was released on DGC in September 1990, with the album’s lead single “Golden Blunders” appearing in the Top 10 on the college radio charts.

In 1993, the band’s next record, Frosting on the Beater, was released. It included the song “Dream All Day”, which hit No. 4 on the modern rock charts and No. 17 on mainstream radio. In addition to extensive touring the United States, the Posies toured internationally and developed large followings in Europe, Australia, Japan, and elsewhere. Their final record for DGC, Amazing Disgrace, was released in 1996.

In 1998, the Posies broke up, but later reformed in 2000 for an acoustic tour and later recorded two more albums, Every Kind of Light in 2005 and Blood/Candy in 2010.

Big Star

In 1993, Stringfellow and Auer were recruited to join Alex Chilton and Jody Stephens for a Big Star reunion; he and Auer performed and recorded as members of Big Star until Alex Chilton’s death in 2010. In November 2014 they both reunited with Big Star’s Jody Stephens for at least one of the ongoing series of “Big Star’s Third” concerts.


In 1997 Stringfellow began a long association with R.E.M.This was an American rock band from Athens, Georgia, formed in 1980 by drummer Bill Berry, guitarist Peter Buck, bassist/backing vocalist Mike Mills, and lead vocalist Michael Stipe.

Stringfellow performed with the band on world tours in 1999, 2003, 2004, and 2005, and appears on several R.E.M. records, including the Man on the Moon soundtrack, Reveal, and Around the Sun.

Solo recordings

Stringfellow has released four solo albums: This Sounds Like Goodbye (1997, on the Hidden Agenda label), Touched (2001, on Manifesto Records), Soft Commands (2004, on Yep Roc Records), and Danzig in the Moonlight (2012). Spark & Shine (US) and Target Earth (Japan), Danzig in the Moonlight featured Charity Rose Thielen and Margaret Cho released on Lojinx (Europe).

In 2008, he also released an EP of cover songs, The Sellout Cover Sessions Vol. 1. He has toured extensively in support of each of the albums.

Since 2005, he has been increasingly involved with the production and has composed film music and string arrangements. He has produced albums for Damien Jurado, The Long Winters, and Carice van Houten.

In 2016, he produced and performed on the final Game Theory studio album, Supercalifragile (2017), a collaborative project that completed the unfinished album Scott Miller had been working on at the time of his death.

Additionally, he has composed soundtracks for short films such as The Kitchen Party and Bunker.

His Other Works

Stringfellow co-wrote and recorded several songs with Scott Miller’s band The Loud Family in the mid-1990s. Also appearing as a guest guitarist and vocalist on their albums The Tape of Only Linda (1994) and Interbabe Concern (1996). He would later produce and perform on Miller’s posthumous Game Theory album Supercalifragile (2016).

In March 2015 he announced a country album together with Holly Muñoz. The album was recorded at his studio and was a response to Willie Nelson’s 1975 album Red Headed Stranger. The Boston Globe commented that it was a ” fascinating left-field listen” noting “the gorgeous back-and-forth dueting of Stringfellow and Munoz”. Willie Nelson’s daughter Amy Nelson also called the album “amazing” on her Instagram feed and thanked them on behalf of the Nelson family. The album received positive reviews.

Ken Stringfellow Net Worth

Stringfellow is an American singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, arranger, and producer. His musical career is his primary source of income. His estimated net worth is still under review.

Ken Stringfellow Discography

Some of his works as a solo artist and with the Posies band include:


  • This Sounds Like Goodbye (1997)
  • Touched (2001)
  • Soft Commands (2004)
  • The Sellout Cover Sessions Vol. 1 (2008)
  • Danzig in the Moonlight (2012)
  • I Never Said I’d Make It Easy: a Ken Stringfellow Collection (2014, initial Australian release)

The Posies

  • Failure (1988)
  • Dear 23 (1990)
  • Frosting on the Beater (1993)
  • Amazing Disgrace (1996)
  • Success (1998)
  • In Case You Didn’t Feel Like Plugging In (2000)
  • Alive Before the Iceberg (2000)
  • At Least, At Last (Box Set) (2000)
  • Dream All Day: The Best of the Posies (2000)
  • Nice Cheekbones and a Ph.D. (2001)
  • Every Kind of Light (2005)
  • Blood/Candy (2010)
  • Solid States (2016)

Ken Stringfellow Twitter

Note: This biography is based on the available information as of 2023, and real-time updates or developments are being updated by our editorial team.